// //
HOME HEGEMONY - Enthroned by Persecution

Hell never closes! We are still shipping virus free packages worldwide in a timely manner. Your support is greatly appreciated!
KATATONIA - Dance Of December Souls
View Larger

KATATONIA - Dance Of December Souls (DIGIPAK CD w/ Bonus Tracks)

Sweden | Doom/Death, Depressive Rock
Stock:  No
SKU:  01CDpve3016
LABEL : Peaceville / Snapper Music
View All : KATATONIA products
Our Price:  
Out of Stock
Detailed Description
'Dance of December Souls' was the debut album from Katatonia, who have since risen to the forefront of the gothic metal genre. Katatonia was formed in Stockholm, Sweden in 1991 by Jonas Renkse and Anders Nystrom.

The album was recorded at Unisound Studios, April 1993 and released later that same year. Engineering and mixing was handled by Dan Swano (Opeth, Marduk, Dissection). This early incarnation of Katatonia contained a more doom/black metal approach, whilst always keeping the trademark sorrowful & hypnotic guitar melodies which are still evident today. The album exudes an atmosphere of utter melancholy, accentuated by the growled, despairing vocals of Jonas.

Upon its release 'Dance of December Souls' was greeted very positively as a breath of fresh air, with the mixing of early Paradise Lost with death and black metal elements and its own unique atmosphere, creating a more sinister and darker sound than their contemporaries. Katatonia quickly became a part of the leaders of the gothic doom movement alongside top UK acts Paradise Lost, My Dying Bride and Anathema.

This release also includes 5 bonus tracks in the shape of the first Katatonia release, the cult classic and hard to find 'Jhva Elohim Meth' EP which preceded the album in 1993. These songs were recorded at Gorysound Studios, July 1992, also engineered and mixed by Dan Swano.

All in all, an essential release for all fans of dark gothic metal.

1. Seven Dreaming Souls
2. Gateways of Bereavement
3. In Silence Enshrined
4. Without God
5. Elohim Meth
6. Velvet Thorns (Of Drynwhyl)
7. Tomb of Insomnia
8. Dancing December

9. Midwinter Gates (Prologue)
10. Without God (different recording)
11. Palace of Frost
12. The Northern Silence
13. Crimson Tears (Epilogue)

Recommend this Item to a Friend
Product Feedback

 Average Rating: 
Write a Review


Choose [here]




Order Management System by Pulse Commerce